Papatoetoe Cricket Club

We celebrate our past and hope to be a successful and vibrant club long into the future!

Papatoetoe Sports Awards!
2 Jun 2017

Come along and support your fellow team mates!

The Premier Women's team along with the following club members have been nominated for some major awards at this year's Papatoetoe Sports Awards. Let's make the effort to get along and support these really worthy nominations and help make it a memorable occasion with our very own President, Nigel Hurst as MC and former captain of the Black Sticks, Dean Couzins as the special guest who is an excellent speaker at these events. 

Let's really show our support to our nominees for the successful season they've had by coming along and joining in on the celebrations!

  • Navdeep Aujla nominated as Club Performer of the Year: Papatoetoe Cricket Club's overall Club Player of the Year and highest wicket-taker taking 44 wickets at an average of 23.90.

  • Regina Lilii nominated as the Sportswoman of the Year: Premier Women's Highest Aggregate and Best Allrounder with 503 Runs at 62.88 average, and 28 wickets at 8.96 ave. Regina was also awarded the ACA Women's Club Cricketer of the Year.
  • Bhupinder Singh nominated as Coach of the Year: Bhupinder did an awesome job with the Premier Men, who are normally fighting for relegation but this year was in the top four and competing for the championship going into the last game of the season.
  • Premier Women nominated as Team of the Year: After almost losing the entire team three seasons ago, and finishing at the bottom of the table, the team placed third (out of eight teams) in the post-Christmas Pearl Dawson Limited Overs Championship. This team has progressed from the last place to a very competitive unit capable of beating any side in the competition on its day. Standout players included Auckland Hearts and Samoan national team player, Regina Lilii, fellow Hearts squad member, Feala Vaelua, and six members of the Samoan National Women's side that went to the recent ICC East Asia Pacific Qualifier